Two More Random Vehicles

In my quest to publish every day, I present the world with photos of two more random vehicles from the streets of Paraguay.

The first car is a red Mercedes. To my untrained eye, it looks like it is from the late 60’s. If anyone ever reads this, and if they are offended by the lack of image quality, well, I’m sorry. This is the best I could do.

It looks like alot the brightwork is there, and the body looks ok. I’m guessing it’s filled to the brim with mud. It is very common here for the vehicles to be skim-coated, possibly on a regular basis. It doesn’t seem like bondo has the stigma it has in the U.S., here people go overboard and I occasionally see cars whose appearance calls to mind Cher – lots of facelifts. The Mercedes is cool and all, but the other car is, well, different.

I should go back and take more pictures. I have no idea what kind of car this is, I was guessing Corolla or Monaro but my cursory glance at wikipedia says those guesses are wrong. Having typed that last sentence, I also called to mind the Celica, but that doesn’t look quite like a Celica. Any guesses?

It would certainly be easier if it had trim, headlights, taillights, and an interior. Speaking of the interior, the object on the floor of the car in the lower left quadrant appears to be a homemade header for a V4, or half a bank of a V8. I’m guessing the latter. I doubt this drives – and don’t assume that because it doesn’t have a seat someone won’t drive it, I am still kicking myself for the time I didn’t get a picture of the person driving a truck with an office chair as the seat. I do have, tucked away somewhere, a picture showing a Karmann Ghia with a stump as the seat. I will try to post. If you can ID, please comment.

Leave a Reply

